American Journal of Applied Sciences

Development of Empirical Prediction Formula for Penetration of Ogive Nose Hard Missile into Concrete Targets

Ahmad Mujahid Ahmad Zaidi, Qadir Bux Alias Imran Latif, Ismail Abdul Rahman and Muhammad Yusof Ismail

DOI : 10.3844/ajassp.2010.711.716

American Journal of Applied Sciences

Volume 7, Issue 5

Pages 711-716


Problem statement: Concrete is basic construction material used for most of structures. However, the typical vital structures have to be designed as self-protective such as nuclear plants, power plants, weapon industries, weapons storage places and water retaining structures, against any threats like natural disaster tragedy incident or intentionally produced by horrible incidents such as dynamic loading, incident occurs in nuclear plants, terrorist attack, missile attack tsunami and etc. Approach: In modern science, the impact energies are crucial way to study the local impact effects on concrete structures. Results: The way in which the kinetic energy is distributed through the concrete target is also noteworthy in determining its response, with the influence of dimensional analysis of the non dimensional numbers. This study is concentrate on development of empirical formula for predicting penetration depth of ogive nose hard missile in to the concrete structures, with the effects of different CRH ratios of missile (CRH = 2.0, CRH = 3.0, CRH = 4.5, CRH = 6.0) based on critical impact energies, by using curve fitting dimensional analysis of non-dimensional numbers. Conclusions/Recommendations: For the verification, the proposed developed empirical formula was compared with other established formulae such as Modified NDRC formula, Hughes formula, ACE formula, UKAEA formula. It is expected that the outcome of the proposed formulae can be applied in design recommendations and design procedures, especially for determining the dynamic reaction of the target to foil penetration in terms of critical impact kinetic energy.


© 2010 Ahmad Mujahid Ahmad Zaidi, Qadir Bux Alias Imran Latif, Ismail Abdul Rahman and Muhammad Yusof Ismail. This is an open access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited.